33wks Bump – Finally “Weight bearing” Kinda…

It’s been 14 weeks, 99 days (Just over 3 months) since I fainted and ended up in A&E with a Lis Franc Fracture in my left foot at 19 weeks pregnant.

It’s been a seriously long and tough process but we are getting there. A week ago I had the stitches out and was given the all clear to weight bear, walk, drive, ‘crack on with life’ as my doctor said.

I was elated, and put two matching shoes on (sensible trainers of course) as soon as I got home and began to slowly put some weight through my foot whilst still holding onto the crutches.

I went from always sitting and drying my hair to being able to stand, if you have a big bump and long hair you’ll know this is a big deal.

I ditched the Garden chair in the shower and have gone for a small plastic stool which allows me to sit more upright and slide myself back and actually be under the  main shower head and not holding onto the small shower head. Again with said hair – it is a big deal. Standing is still a little way off in slippery places!

I can stand for longer in the kitchen and cook more, even leaving one crutch and just using the side or island as some support when needed.

However as amazing as these little feats are it then hit me like a ton of bricks. My foot hurts, and I’m still on crutches and week later I feel no closer to ditching them. Am I pushing too hard? Not enough? Will I break it again? Why is it hurting? is this normal? When will this end??? Its my birthday in 4 days and I sooooo want to be without crutches and feeling more normal, but I need to accept it’s not gonna happen and instead be grateful that I can put some weight on it and I’m no longer in the boot.

This week has actually been the hardest, every stage before has been with a timeline, and we have hit each timeline with no set backs, but now there is no timeline, except that of my babys due date in 7 weeks. Maybe sooner! OR maybe later! And this has made me have all the “Hormotional” moments, and they even escaped around friends and not just my husband who has faced them all up until now!

But for anyone reading this in a similar position, don’t forget how far you’ve come, a Lisfranc is a big deal and although no one outside who hasn’t experienced it will ever really understand just how tough it can be, just know that each stage you get to is amazing and you deserve a big High Five. And through all the depressing reads there are out there on the internet, there are a lot of positive ones too, and everyone is individual, so we just need a little MORE patience and time and all will be fine.

Off for physio, fingers crossed for some progress 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “33wks Bump – Finally “Weight bearing” Kinda…

  1. Congratulations on your progress! It is incredible that you were able to deal with this monster during your pregnancy. I had a severe lisfranc injury and am 7 weeks out of my surgery. Unfortunately, I am out without bearing weight for another 6 weeks. I started a blog yesterday and I could not find much from people from the same condition in case you care to provide advice on what worked for you. The site is https://lisfrancknowledge.wordpress.com
    Congratulations again and I hope you make 100% recovery. Congrats on the baby too.

    Like

  2. Hi @lisfranctriathlete
    Sorry to hear of your injury, thank you for your message, it’s been a long old road but I’m getting there! I’ve read all sorts of blogs and found some depressing reads but also some positive. At the end of the day everyone and every injury is a little different so it’s hard to know how your story will go but I’m sure we will all be back to normal eventually, just more patience needed!! I found the previous stages easier as there was always a date “in 4 weeks” “in 6 weeks” etc but now it’s just off you go and try and walk! So it’s down to me! Good luck with everything, I wrote a few tips of things I found useful earlier in the blog that might help, keep it elevated as much as possible and if they have given you exercises to do do them little and often to keep things moving 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment